The Croft

Late-onset bourgeois baronial, the hard-edged severity of the mid-century Revival softened by harled walls and red sandstone dressings. Built c. 1898, the house has been attributed on stylistic grounds to William Leiper (1839-1916) then at work on Auchenbothie House and soon to be commissioned to design the village’s St Columba Church. A picturesque grouping of crowstepped gables and cone-capped cylinders proclaim baronial lineage. Boldly corbelled at first floor on the west corner, a storey-height bartizan generously lit by a three-light mullion-andtransom window. At the rear, two crowstepped gables flank a canted bay quaintly jettied at first floor.

Image 1 of 5
Image 2 of 5
Image 3 of 5
Image 4 of 5
Image 5 of 5